01905 421409
[email protected]

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years is a little different to that of Key Stage 1 and 2. It is based on on-going observations and assessments in the three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three learning characteristics. All children begin Reception with different starting points and develop at different rates. By considering your child’s needs, interests and stages of development we aim to offer challenging and enjoyable experiences across the EYFS curriculum for them.

The EYFS curriculum is organised into 7 areas of learning and development, 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas:-

PRIME AREAS These areas of learning most essential for children’s readiness for future learning and healthy development.

1. Communication and Language
Developing confidence and skills to express themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

2. Physical Development
Developing co-ordination, control and movement, understanding the importance of physical activity and making healthy food choices.

3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Developing a positive sense of themselves, forming positive relationships, developing respect for others, developing social skills, learning how to manage feelings, understanding appropriate behaviour in groups and having confidence in their own abilities.


4. Literacy
Linking sounds to letters, beginning to read and write and developing their interest in a wide range of reading materials.

5. Mathematics
Developing counting skills, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and describing shapes, spaces and measures.

6. Understanding the World
Making sense of their physical world and community by exploring, observing and finding out about people, places, technology and the environment.

7. Expressive Arts and Design
Exploring a wide range of media and materials, sharing their thoughts, feelings and ideas through art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design technology.

In Reception we follow a RE Scheme which includes topics about the Creation and God’s Gifts and people who care for us. We also look at Advent, the Christmas story and the story of Easter. Please help your child to learn our simple prayers and please help your child to recognise the importance of going to Church.

The characteristics of learning:

The characteristics of effective learning describe factors which play a central role in a child’s learning and in becoming an effective learner. They are vital elements of support for the transition process from EYFS to Year 1. The characteristics of learning run through and underpin all seven areas of learning and development, representing processes rather than outcomes. Information describing the child’s characteristics of effective learning will provide Year 1 teachers with vital background and context when considering the child’s next stage of development and future learning needs.

They are based 3 areas:

Playing and exploring

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Using what they know in their play
  • Being willing to have a go

Active learning

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping on trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically

  • Having their own ideas
  • Using what they already know to learn new things
  • Choosing ways to do things and finding new ways

Your child will access all of the learning areas through planned purposeful play that has a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities. Each area has its own set of Early Learning Goals which cover the knowledge, skills and understanding that most children are expected to have achieved by the end of Reception.